Page 1 of 1

esp32-S3 ADC2 hardware limitation workaround

Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2023 3:15 am
by mediaRif
I have something in development that uses most of the esp32-S3's ADCs (both ADC1 & ADC2) in continuous mode and am disappointed to learn this conclusion on the esp32-S3 ADC2 hardware limitation (as stated in the Espressif documentation here below ... about halfway down) :

https://docs.espressif.com/projects/esp ... continuous

[ copy/pasted here below ]

ADC2 continuous mode is no longer supported, due to hardware limitation. The results are not stable. This issue can be found in ESP32S3 Errata <https://www.espressif.com/sites/default ... ata_en.pdf>. For compatibility, you can enable CONFIG_ADC_CONTINUOUS_FORCE_USE_ADC2_ON_C3_S3 to force use ADC2.

I don't understand what this force use means (does it mean it will work? or still be unstable?)

If you review the suggested arrata article (PDF):

https://www.espressif.com/sites/default ... ata_en.pdf

It states this as a suggested workaround:

Users are suggested to use RTC controller to control SAR ADC2.

I don't know what this workaround is (and how to do it) ... any help?

Re: esp32-S3 ADC2 hardware limitation workaround

Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2023 11:37 am
by corz.org

Re: esp32-S3 ADC2 hardware limitation workaround

Posted: Sun Mar 26, 2023 4:24 pm
by mediaRif
I believe the implication of this response means to enable this flag CONFIG_ADC_CONTINUOUS_FORCE_USE_ADC2_ON_C3_S3 ... but my question is, ... will it work? (or will it continue to be unstable?)