Inconsistent SPI during ULP

brownbeagle

Inconsistent SPI during ULP

Postby brownbeagle » Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:43 pm

I am trying to bitbang SPI during the ESP32 deep sleep mode with ULP. I've connected a logic analyser to debug the signal. I am getting strange inconsistent behaviour where the SCK line will always do something, while MOSI/MISO will very rarely do anything. Screenshots attached.

When I have managed to produce signals on MOSI/MISO I will then flash the ESP32 with code adjustments which produces no signal once again. Then, I will undo my changes to the previously working code, flash the ESP32, and I will not produce a signal.

This kind of behaviour suggests to me a timing/race condition or perhaps I'm indirectly placing the ESP32 in to a state that is different between flashes of the "working" code.

I've based my code off the Espressif ULP SPI example at https://github.com/espressif/esp-iot-so ... es/ulp_spi where I am using spi.S and stack.S

I'm a rookie when it comes to bitbanging SPI, ULP, and logic analysers. There could well be a simple and obvious reason that I am missing.

Any ideas? Any pointers on things I can check or do to further diagnose?

Thanks!

Some code snippets...

Deep sleep setup and start:

Code: Select all

70   // Run ULP on sleep if available.                                                   
 71   if (mBinStart && mBinEnd) {                                                         
 72     ESP_ERROR_CHECK(ulp_load_binary(                                                  
 73         0 /* load address, set to 0 when using default linker scripts */,             
 74         mBinStart,                                                                    
 75         (mBinEnd - mBinStart) / sizeof(uint32_t)) );                                  
 76     ESP_ERROR_CHECK( esp_sleep_enable_ulp_wakeup() );                                 
 77