Timers and Stepper Motor Control

qjones

Timers and Stepper Motor Control

Postby qjones » Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:09 am

Hello,

First I just want to say how impressed I am in espressif and the esp32 chip and sdks. I've been in the Arduino space for a while and the power of this chip running on a RTOS is amazing. I have yet to really run into any major hurdles at all. I am a little new to the FreeRTOS way of doing things with tasks vs the bare metal way. My question is for something like a stepper pulse generator(speed control not position) I am curious what the best way might be. I have vetted a few options:

1) A task with a vTaskDelay. Unfortunately from what I can tell there is no way to get 1 sub ms timings this way. I will need rates of around 50khz so around 20 to 30 us task period or so. Other option being using a sort of busy wait delay function. This seems sub optimal and against the spirit of an RTOS.

2) Use the timer API for a software timer callback. Similar issue to above and do not seem to be able to go sub 1 ms timings. Doesn't look like the intended use.

3) Use a hardware timer with an interrupt. Works great. I can ramp up from low speed to high speed by just adjusting the next alarm value to match my desired step rate. I can only get this to work by toggling the gpios inside the interrupt itself. If using a semaphore there back to a task my step rate seems to have a low limit on frequency. Maybe there is a better way to pass control back quickly. If not my thought is enabling a state machine there so I can appropriately adjust my step pins. Worried a bit about putting too much logic in the ISR. Not exactly sure how much is "too" much on the codebhere.