[Answered] SPI Read Register Delay

qjones

[Answered] SPI Read Register Delay

Postby qjones » Wed Mar 01, 2017 5:35 pm

Hi,

Quick question here. I have been using the esp-idf spi api successfully by using the spi_device_transmit api. However I have run into a situation with a device that I need to insert a 75 us delay between writing the register address to read from and the time the data is ready to read. The way I understand the spi_device_transmit is that everything is queued up into a transaction I do not see any way to insert any delays.

Pseudo of what I need to do:

SetChipSelectPin(0);
SPIWrite(RegisterAddress);
Delay(75us); // How do I add this??
rxData = SPIWrite(RegisterAddress);
SetChipSelectPin(1);

Hopefully I explained my question. I am a little new to using the SPI bus. So my apologies if I am missing something easy.

Thanks!
Last edited by qjones on Thu Mar 02, 2017 4:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

kolban

Re: SPI Read Register Delay

Postby kolban » Wed Mar 01, 2017 7:34 pm

Just a guess ... but instead of one SPI transaction with two data interactions ... could we not use two SPI transactions with one data interaction each?

For example:

Code: Select all

spi_device_transmit();
delay(period);
spi_device_transmit();
Free book on ESP32 available here: https://leanpub.com/kolban-ESP32

qjones

Postby qjones » Wed Mar 01, 2017 10:35 pm