Splitting program locations in flash

cald0s
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2020 3:10 pm

Splitting program locations in flash

Postby cald0s » Fri Oct 30, 2020 12:52 am

Hi all, this is a little tricky to explain, but my motivation is:

When I add wifi components to my project, the code size grows quite large and flashing takes a minute, instead of seconds. However the wifi addition is now completed, I will only need exactly what I have, so to me it seems reasonable to load these components into a separate partition in flash, so that I only need to flash this once.

This would allow me to update the application code without having to also flash the wifi components.

Is such a thing possible with ESP-IDF, or could it ever be?

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 8921
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Splitting program locations in flash

Postby ESP_Sprite » Fri Oct 30, 2020 2:47 am

Not what you are asking about, but you know you can increase the serial speed during flashing? It's a menuconfig option, or you can do it on the commandline with e.g. 'idf.py flash -b 1000000' or 'make ESP_BAUD=1000000 flash'.

cald0s
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2020 3:10 pm

Re: Splitting program locations in flash

Postby cald0s » Fri Oct 30, 2020 9:24 pm

I had tried to set the flasher via menuconfig to use QIO as I figured this would be faster, but I am also using the vscode plugin and I can see in the console output that it is still using DIO.

I will give your option a go too, thank you.

For anyone not understanding, this may help
wifiesp.jpg
wifiesp.jpg (90.02 KiB) Viewed 2560 times

cald0s
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2020 3:10 pm

Re: Splitting program locations in flash

Postby cald0s » Sun Nov 01, 2020 11:59 am

ESP_Sprite wrote:
Fri Oct 30, 2020 2:47 am
Not what you are asking about, but you know you can increase the serial speed during flashing? It's a menuconfig option, or you can do it on the commandline with e.g. 'idf.py flash -b 1000000' or 'make ESP_BAUD=1000000 flash'.
Thanks, this helped a lot and cut down a 1MB flash that took 60 seconds, to 7 seconds.
I use the vscode extension and found that the flash speed is not easily configured, maybe it needs to be added to the sdkconfig
https://github.com/espressif/vscode-esp ... issues/207

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: awegel, Bing [Bot], ESP_rrtandler, zelenecul and 106 guests