[Solved] Overflow region dram0_0_seg for big project ...

Ritesh
Posts: 1365
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:37 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: [Solved] Overflow region dram0_0_seg for big project ...

Postby Ritesh » Sat May 27, 2017 6:12 pm

WiFive wrote:There is only 2 solution: use less ram or add more external ram (wrover). Maybe can move some things to iram if you are close to the limit.
How it move some of code to IRAM?

Please explain with example code.
Regards,
Ritesh Prajapati

WiFive
Posts: 3529
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:35 am

Re: [Solved] Overflow region dram0_0_seg for big project ...

Postby WiFive » Sat May 27, 2017 6:45 pm

If a certain memory structure is only addressed in 32-bit units, for example an array of ints or pointers, it can be useful to allocate it with the MALLOC_CAP_32BIT flag. This also allows the allocator to give out IRAM memory; something which it can’t do for a normal malloc() call. This can help to use all the available memory in the ESP32.
http://esp-idf.readthedocs.io/en/latest ... alloc.html

Ritesh
Posts: 1365
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:37 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: [Solved] Overflow region dram0_0_seg for big project ...

Postby Ritesh » Sat May 27, 2017 6:58 pm

WiFive wrote:
If a certain memory structure is only addressed in 32-bit units, for example an array of ints or pointers, it can be useful to allocate it with the MALLOC_CAP_32BIT flag. This also allows the allocator to give out IRAM memory; something which it can’t do for a normal malloc() call. This can help to use all the available memory in the ESP32.
http://esp-idf.readthedocs.io/en/latest ... alloc.html
Thanks for quick response.

I will check and let you know update or any issue while accessing it.
Regards,
Ritesh Prajapati

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 103 guests