[Closed] JTAG - Watchpoint, value unavailable

vtunr_abl
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 1:45 pm

[Closed] JTAG - Watchpoint, value unavailable

Postby vtunr_abl » Mon Jun 11, 2018 2:00 pm

Hi,

I'm working on ESP32 WROOM and now using JTAG to flash and debug.
I manage to get it working but i can't get watchpoint working.

Here's the output on gdb :

Code: Select all

Temporary breakpoint 1, app_main ()
    at C:/OneDrive/ABL_new/p1/workspace_esp32/WiFi/main/src/app_main.c:490
490     {
(gdb) watch data_rx
No symbol "data_rx" in current context.
(gdb) break 406
Breakpoint 2 at 0x400df965: file C:/OneDrive/ABL_new/p1/workspace_esp32/WiFi/main/src/app_main.c, line 406.
(gdb) continue
Continuing.
Target halted. PRO_CPU: PC=0x400DF965 (active)    APP_CPU: PC=0xF8001080
[New Thread 1073574440]
[New Thread 1073579740]
[New Thread 1073534172]
[New Thread 1073545792]
[New Thread 1073539176]
[New Thread 1073565312]
[Switching to Thread 1073574440]

Breakpoint 2, com_mcu_task ()
    at C:/OneDrive/ABL_new/p1/workspace_esp32/WiFi/main/src/app_main.c:406
406                             ESP_LOGI("UART", "Received %s", data_rx);
(gdb) watch data_rx
Watchpoint 3: data_rx
(gdb) continue
Undefined command: "".  Try "help".
(gdb) continue
Continuing.
Target halted. PRO_CPU: PC=0x40082454 (active)    APP_CPU: PC=0xF8001080
Error evaluating expression for watchpoint 3
value is not available
I have the same problem using eclipse, where the value is written as unavailable.
I have the compiler setup for debug (-Og).

Here's my config files :

openocd config file:

Code: Select all

interface jlink
adapter_khz 10000
set ESP32_RTOS FreeRTOS
transport select jtag
source [find share/openocd/scripts/target/esp32.cfg]
gdbinit:

Code: Select all

target remote :3333
mon reset halt
flushregs
thb app_main
What am i missing ?

Thanks,

Tony
Last edited by vtunr_abl on Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 8926
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: JTAG - Watchpoint, value unavailable

Postby ESP_Sprite » Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:11 am

How is data_rx allocated? If it's allocated on the stack, the variable effectively doesn't exist when the processor is not in that function.

vtunr_abl
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 1:45 pm

Re: JTAG - Watchpoint, value unavailable

Postby vtunr_abl » Fri Jun 15, 2018 12:26 pm

Hi,

It was an issue with the toolchain, deleted and reinstall fresh and it's working fine now.
Everything is working fine now.

Tony

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 114 guests