get nothing running with V3 rc1, not even hello-world

jumjum123
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 3:11 pm

get nothing running with V3 rc1, not even hello-world

Postby jumjum123 » Tue Dec 12, 2017 7:17 pm

Downloaded V3 rc1 and installed, following Release notes.
Even simple hello application gives attached.
Confusing is SPI Flash Size with 2MB, I'm pretty sure to have 4MB
BTW, this time, I'm sure to have flash correct bootloader.bin

ets Jun 8 2016 00:22:57

rst:0x1 (POWERON_RESET),boot:0x13 (SPI_FAST_FLASH_BOOT)
configsip: 0, SPIWP:0xee
clk_drv:0x00,q_drv:0x00,d_drv:0x00,cs0_drv:0x00,hd_drv:0x00,wp_drv:0x00
mode:DIO, clock div:4
load:0x3fff0018,len:4
load:0x3fff001c,len:5704
load:0x40078000,len:0
ho 12 tail 0 room 4
load:0x40078000,len:13804
entry 0x40079030
I (83) boot: Detected ESP32
I (33) boot: ESP-IDF v3.1-dev-37-ga7a8619 2nd stage bootloader
I (34) boot: compile time 18:12:06
I (34) boot: Enabling RNG early entropy source...
I (39) boot: SPI Speed : 20MHz
I (43) boot: SPI Mode : DIO
I (47) boot: SPI Flash Size : 2MB
E (51) flash_parts: partition 0 invalid magic number 0x40a9
E (58) boot: Failed to verify partition table
E (63) boot: load partition table error!
user code done

WiFive
Posts: 3529
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:35 am

Re: get nothing running with V3 rc1, not even hello-world

Postby WiFive » Tue Dec 12, 2017 7:28 pm

Did you flash correct partition table? Are you using make flash command?

jumjum123
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 3:11 pm

Re: get nothing running with V3 rc1, not even hello-world

Postby jumjum123 » Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:16 pm

I flashed and overwrote all of the memory with zero.
With or without overwriting, same problem.
Tested with 2 different boards.
Tested the same with older ESP-IDF and everything runs fine.

chegewara
Posts: 2207
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:00 pm

Re: get nothing running with V3 rc1, not even hello-world

Postby chegewara » Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:42 pm

jumjum123 wrote:I flashed and overwrote all of the memory with zero.
With or without overwriting, same problem.
Tested with 2 different boards.
Tested the same with older ESP-IDF and everything runs fine.
have you tried?

Code: Select all

make erase_flash
if this wont help, try

Code: Select all

make clean & make

ESP_Angus
Posts: 2344
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 4:11 am

Re: get nothing running with V3 rc1, not even hello-world

Postby ESP_Angus » Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:01 am

jumjum123 wrote: E (51) flash_parts: partition 0 invalid magic number 0x40a9
This error can imply bootloader.bin is too big, and has overwritten the partition table. Although esptool.py should detect this and error out if both were flashed at the same time (ie with "make flash").

Any chance you could please zip up your "build" directory for hello world and post it somewhere for us to take a look?

Angus

jumjum123
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 3:11 pm

Re: get nothing running with V3 rc1, not even hello-world

Postby jumjum123 » Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:42 am

@esp_angus
Please see here http://jumspruino.jumware.com/problems/ ... -World.zip
And this is the way, how I flash http://jumspruino.jumware.com/problems/ ... -World.PNG
There is one change in sdk_config for size of flash to 4mb
Anyway, 2mb or 4mb, problem is the same.
Hope, you can help me :?

jumjum123
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 3:11 pm

Re: get nothing running with V3 rc1, not even hello-world

Postby jumjum123 » Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:15 am

Hmmmmm, looks like I found problematic code.
Removed call to
- vddsdio_configure
- flash_gpio_configure
from main in bootloader_start.c
and it works :o

update:
problem is somewhere in flash_gpio_configure
no problem if this call is commented out

2nd update:
just recognized warning that my toolchain is too old
Therefore googled for actual one and found this https://esp-idf.readthedocs.io/en/v2.0/linux-setup.html
In there is a note V3 rc1 with a link, but link is dead
Anyway, just download from link found here https://esp-idf.readthedocs.io/en/v3.0- ... setup.html
Will install and check again

3rd update tested with new toolchain and get same problem as before.
So its not a problem of toolchain.
checked with 3 different devkits (watterott, www.doit.am and one of the first from 2016), same problem for all

WiFive
Posts: 3529
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:35 am

Re: get nothing running with V3 rc1, not even hello-world

Postby WiFive » Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:28 pm

Does it happen at 40mhz too?

ESP_Angus
Posts: 2344
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 4:11 am

Re: get nothing running with V3 rc1, not even hello-world

Postby ESP_Angus » Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:14 am

Can confirm setting 20MHz flash speed is the problem here, in the flash_gpio_configure() function. We will have a fix ASAP.

In the mean time, the development boards you mention should work (with better performance) with 40MHz flash speed.

WiFive
Posts: 3529
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:35 am

Re: get nothing running with V3 rc1, not even hello-world

Postby WiFive » Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:48 am

@ESP_Angus why is the default to use gpio matrix now instead of mux?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 65 guests