neopixel ring 16 infrequent self-lighting only when wifi has been initialized once

rus_pa

neopixel ring 16 infrequent self-lighting only when wifi has been initialized once

Postby rus_pa » Tue Dec 10, 2019 3:50 pm

Hello! This is my first post for my very first arduino-ish project ever, so please don't jump at my throat if I ignore basics of some kind, especially in electronic components and circuitry matters. I do code for living but, electronics... I'm almost a total beginner.

Let's jump to my issue, which hopefully might turn out to be not so difficult to fix: I used an Expressif ESP32-DevkitC to connect to some rest api, parse some json and when the value is X then I light a neopixel ring 16 (official), when set the code to use the leds alone, they work flawlessly, if I also turn on the wifi (wifi.begin(...)) the led still work good, but a few random leds (not always the same) also seem to randomly lit themselves, rarely, from time to time and without a real consistency. In other words, some random led flicker briefly always in different color on top of working correctly.

I've read that wifi on esp32 is bound to adc2 channel and you need to use adc1 pins if you plan to use wifi, but I've noticed no difference in using one pin instead of another, whether or not it was adc1 or 2, I just got the same results. I added the resitor to the data in and the capacitor between +5 and GND, same result.

I also have a collegue here pretty experienced in arduino projects and he's baffled as well about this issue, he never used an esp32 tho.