Error connecting ESP32-S2 in Arduino: invalid head of packet

balage
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 11:21 pm

Error connecting ESP32-S2 in Arduino: invalid head of packet

Postby balage » Mon Jul 06, 2020 11:37 pm

Hi All,

I have bought a Saola dev board (ESP32-S2-Saola-1MI) and I am trying to upload my first code into. I use Arduino IDE and when uploading the IDE fails to connect to the device: A fatal error occurred: Invalid head of packet (0x50) :(

Reading forums it seems everybody have resolved this issue by setting baud rate and by pressing the boot button during upload. See some here:
https://github.com/espressif/arduino-esp32/issues/485
https://github.com/espressif/arduino-esp32/issues/1253

What I've already tried:
- Baud rate setting to 115200
- Pushing the boot button before/during the connection procedure
- Another USB cable
- Another computer
- USB driver OK, COM port can be seen
- flash_download_tool_v3.8.5_1 cannot connect either

Has anybody face this? Do you have any idea what I should try?

Thanks,
Attachments
output.JPG
output.JPG (38.3 KiB) Viewed 563 times
settings.png
settings.png (20.69 KiB) Viewed 563 times

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 3937
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Error connecting ESP32-S2 in Arduino: invalid head of packet

Postby ESP_Sprite » Tue Jul 07, 2020 8:16 am

It looks like your software is trying to program a 'classic' ESP32 instead of an ESP32-S2. Do you have the -S2 Arduino support installed?

balage
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2020 11:21 pm

Re: Error connecting ESP32-S2 in Arduino: invalid head of packet

Postby balage » Sun Aug 02, 2020 11:27 am

Thanks for your reply and sorry for my late response. I haven't got e-mail notification of your reply.

Anyway. The -S2 package was not installed, you are right. The problem was that the IDE does not support installing the package directly, I had to copy the files manually.

Thank again!

chegewara
Posts: 1211
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:00 pm

Re: Error connecting ESP32-S2 in Arduino: invalid head of packet

Postby chegewara » Mon Aug 03, 2020 5:01 pm

Actually i am having the same error quite often with properly prepared arduino IDE. I have to try few times in a row to flash or even open new window and flash empty sketch to workaround that error.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests