PicoV3 - Arduino ?

ThomasK
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:33 am

PicoV3 - Arduino ?

Postby ThomasK » Mon Jan 11, 2021 7:59 pm

Short question: Can I also use the ESP32-PICO-V3 chip with Arduino? Does it work exactly like the ESP32-PICO-D4, or with special settings, or not at all?

ThomasK
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:33 am

Re: PicoV3 - Arduino ?

Postby ThomasK » Tue Jan 12, 2021 11:13 pm

Hello, can anyone give some information about it?
I don't mean the ESP32-picoV3-2, which is currently only available as a sample.
I mean the simple ESP32-picoV3, which has been produced and sold normally for some time.
Thank you.

boarchuz
Posts: 361
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2018 5:28 am

Re: PicoV3 - Arduino ?

Postby boarchuz » Wed Jan 13, 2021 6:02 am

See section "3.3 Compatibility with ESP32­PICO­D4" of PICO-V3 datasheet:
https://www.espressif.com/sites/default ... eet_en.pdf

If GPIOs 18 and 23 are defaults for any of the Arduino functionality (eg. I2C bus) then you might have issues with libraries that expect those pins. Otherwise it should be fine. Have you tried it?

ThomasK
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:33 am

Re: PicoV3 - Arduino ?

Postby ThomasK » Wed Jan 13, 2021 12:27 pm

I don't see any problem adapting special GPIOs (e.g. 18/19 for I2C), that should work. My question is first: Can I create a program via Arduino and program it into the chip so that it works?
No, I haven't tested it yet, but ask beforehand ;)
I intend to create a board where I've used the pico-D4 so far. I do not need a possible memory expansion and would also like to use the new chip pico-V3. But Arduino is used for software creation, hence my question.

ThomasK
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:33 am

Re: PicoV3 - Arduino ?

Postby ThomasK » Thu Jan 14, 2021 11:25 am

Since it is not possible to get such a simple answer in advance, I have to test it myself :(
It is comparable to the first step of mankind on the moon, nobody has programmed this chip with Arduino before.

ESP_Minatel
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2021 2:06 pm

Re: PicoV3 - Arduino ?

Postby ESP_Minatel » Thu Jan 14, 2021 11:38 am

Hi,

You can use it without any problems. The ESP32-PICO-V3 has the same core as the ESP32-D0WD i.e plus internal flash memory and the 40MHz crystal. The V3 stands for the ECO V3, with some wafer-level changes. See the document for more information.


ECO V3


Datasheet

I hope it helps you!

ThomasK
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 2:33 am

Re: PicoV3 - Arduino ?

Postby ThomasK » Thu Jan 14, 2021 11:54 am

Thanks.
That's exactly how I thought it, just wanted to be assured by a professional that it really is.
The answer was that simple and quick. Thanks again.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests