RTOS running on one core only

sankd420
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 06, 2019 9:17 am

Re: RTOS running on one core only

Postby sankd420 » Fri Sep 06, 2019 9:36 am

Ok I have also have an issue where my esp32 from DO-IT using NODEMCU-12E board in boards manager doesnt accept rtos and throws error in arduino i am so frustrated by this especially because i specially ordered these because of the rtos and dual core capability.Can any one of u please tell me how to run rtos on the DO-IT board,i have tries this but returns an error saying that xtraskcreate doesnt exist or xtask"anything here" is not defined and the code doesnt even compile , I am too frustrated about this please can anyone fix this???/

ESP_Dazz
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 6:50 am

Re: RTOS running on one core only

Postby ESP_Dazz » Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:30 pm

sankd420 wrote: Ok I have also have an issue where my esp32 from DO-IT using NODEMCU-12E board in boards manager doesnt accept rtos and throws error in arduino i am so frustrated by this especially because i specially ordered these because of the rtos and dual core capability.Can any one of u please tell me how to run rtos on the DO-IT board,i have tries this but returns an error saying that xtraskcreate doesnt exist or xtask"anything here" is not defined and the code doesnt even compile , I am too frustrated about this please can anyone fix this???/
Could you please post the specific error output you're getting?

tommeyers
Posts: 108
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:51 pm
Location: Santiago, Dominican Republic

Re: RTOS running on one core only

Postby tommeyers » Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:59 pm

Thank you, you are more patient than I would be.

Another way to argue is:

If running RTOS on one processor means that CTOS on the other processor is not an OS then running CTOS on one processor means that RTOS on the other processor is not an OS. Together that would mean that there is no OS on either processor. Which is ridiculous.

Please, continue your innovative work on esp-32.

Tom Meyers
IT Professional, Maker
Santiago, Dominican Republic

User avatar
mad_b747
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2020 1:26 pm

Re: RTOS running on one core only

Postby mad_b747 » Mon Apr 20, 2020 2:10 pm

Hello Mr. @HelWeb

I found the time critical core 1 operations solution as described by you very suitable to my needs. In fact, I would like to make a bare metal in core 1 even if being inside a task called with no interrupts on that core; no other tasks or O.S.

However I seen in some answers in this topic regarding a need of core 0 to talk to core 1 (interrupts or similar), what would disturb core 1 "real time" operations.

Have you run into some similar situation, by your posts it seems to me that you managed to make it really work - my understanding is that you can keep the ESP32 talking and "functioning" normally with core 0 while running your time critical operations on core 1. AND have both talking to each other if needed.

Finally, are the code texts that you posted all needed to start something in this way or are excerpts and more work is needed.

Thanks in advance

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 25 guests