ESP32 I2S camera slave mode I2Snl_Data_in Can be set to 1-bit/2-bit/4-bit?

PaulShaw
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:54 am

ESP32 I2S camera slave mode I2Snl_Data_in Can be set to 1-bit/2-bit/4-bit?

Postby PaulShaw » Sun Jan 19, 2020 3:11 am

ESP32 I2S camera slave mode I2Snl_Data_in Can be set to 1-bit/2-bit/4-bit?

From https://github.com/espressif/esp32-camera
I found camera interface I2Snl_Data_in is 8-bit data width.

Can I set to 1-bit/2-bit/4-bit? And How to store into DMA buffer ?

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 9051
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: ESP32 I2S camera slave mode I2Snl_Data_in Can be set to 1-bit/2-bit/4-bit?

Postby ESP_Sprite » Sun Jan 19, 2020 9:26 am

Not exactly... if you need 1-bit, you may be able to fake something using the normal (non-camera) I2S mode. If you need 2 or 4-bit modes, perhaps the dual-SPI/QSPI modes of the SPI peripherals can do what you need.

PaulShaw
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:54 am

Re: ESP32 I2S camera slave mode I2Snl_Data_in Can be set to 1-bit/2-bit/4-bit?

Postby PaulShaw » Mon Jan 20, 2020 11:42 am

ESP_Sprite wrote:
Sun Jan 19, 2020 9:26 am
Not exactly... if you need 1-bit, you may be able to fake something using the normal (non-camera) I2S mode. If you need 2 or 4-bit modes, perhaps the dual-SPI/QSPI modes of the SPI peripherals can do what you need.
Thanks your reply!

In SPI Slave mode,the SPI-clk frequency is not higher than CLKapb/8(it's 10MHz). The slave device's SPI-clk frequency is higher than 20Mhz,so :(

In I2S mode,the devices has no i2s_ws signal and a data packet is more than 16bits.
Your fake I2S mode is a good idea,I'll try it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 226 guests