Page 1 of 2

ADC2 support

Posted: Fri May 05, 2017 5:42 pm
by frax84
Hello,
anyone is able to make an estimation for ADC2 support? I noticed in the programming guide that actually only ADC1 is supported. A simple time estimation would be nice.

Thank you!
frax

Re: ADC2 support

Posted: Sat May 06, 2017 1:15 am
by rudi ;-)
frax84 wrote:Hello,
anyone is able to make an estimation for ADC2 support? I noticed in the programming guide that actually only ADC1 is supported. A simple time estimation would be nice.

Thank you!
frax
you can try this in the meantime, read the notes in the comments.

best wishes
rudi ;-)

Re: ADC2 support

Posted: Sat May 06, 2017 8:20 am
by frax84
Wow, thanks for the quick and useful reply!
I'll give it a shot!

frax

Re: ADC2 support

Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 9:33 am
by frax84
Hello again,
i would like to ask an info about the ADC2 support.
From the issue linked by rudi:

ESPrite:
"we're a bit hesitant to make ADC2 available because it is also used for pretty important control loops inside the WiFi (and maybe BT, I don't remember) drivers. We want to make sure there's no chance of these and the user ADC calls to interfere with each other."

For the project i'm working on ADC2 is an important element (i would need a total of 12 ADC channels) and i use BLE to transfer data. I would like to know if ADC2 pins are used for BT control loops or not.

Thanks,
frax

Re: ADC2 support

Posted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 7:51 am
by frax84
Bump

Re: ADC2 support

Posted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 9:53 am
by ESP_igrr
We are working on implementing this. This is a bit tricky because the arbitration mechanism needs to handle different scenarios (different WiFi throughput, ADC polling frequency) and we want to make sure that we still get reasonable performance in all cases. Will update the corresponding Github issue when we have it working.

Re: ADC2 support

Posted: Sat Jun 17, 2017 1:55 pm
by frax84
Yes, the problem is clear...but i don't need the wifi.
I want to know if there is the same problem with bluetooth.

Re: ADC2 support

Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:19 am
by frax84
This is starting to be frustrating :)
I'm stuck with this until i get an easy answer: are the pins of ADC2 used for BT control loops? Can i use them for ADC2 if i don't use WiFi?

Re: ADC2 support

Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:39 am
by ESP_igrr
No, ADC2 is not used for BT. If you don't use WiFi (i.e. don't call esp_wifi_init), you should be able to use ADC2.

Re: ADC2 support

Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:40 am
by frax84
Awesome!
Thank you
frax