Problems with ESP-WROOM-32 and <WiFi.h> Library

daniel_hammer
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2022 5:39 pm

Problems with ESP-WROOM-32 and <WiFi.h> Library

Postby daniel_hammer » Wed Jan 12, 2022 5:05 pm

I have a problem trying to use standalone ESP-WROOM-32 module with a LiPo battery and using TP4056 module, when I do a upload of a simple test sketch without libraries, my ESP works. But when I try to use WiFi or Bluetooth, the brownout happens. Someone can help me to see what is wrong in my schematic and show me what I have to do?
Attachments
Problem.png
Problem.png (77.81 KiB) Viewed 10579 times

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 8921
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Problems with ESP-WROOM-32 and <WiFi.h> Library

Postby ESP_Sprite » Thu Jan 13, 2022 12:49 am

HT7B33 is not a chip Google recognizes. Are you sure it can deliver >=500mA to the ESP32? Maybe also add some decoupling caps on the line between U1 and U2?

daniel_hammer
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2022 5:39 pm

Re: Problems with ESP-WROOM-32 and <WiFi.h> Library

Postby daniel_hammer » Thu Jan 13, 2022 12:18 pm

The resolution of printscreen has transformed the 8 in a letter B, the chip is a HT7833 and this LDO haves 500mA to deliver to esp32. But i will follow your tip.
Attachments
problem.pdf
(53.43 KiB) Downloaded 208 times

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 8921
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Problems with ESP-WROOM-32 and <WiFi.h> Library

Postby ESP_Sprite » Fri Jan 14, 2022 3:37 am

Could you also show your PCB design, by the way? Possibly something can be glanced from that.

daniel_hammer
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2022 5:39 pm

Re: Problems with ESP-WROOM-32 and <WiFi.h> Library

Postby daniel_hammer » Fri Jan 14, 2022 1:01 pm

I put my PCB and the 3D model too. But I don't make my pcb yet, I'm using my protoboard to test my project.
Attachments
ProblemPCB.png
ProblemPCB.png (39.77 KiB) Viewed 10503 times
Problem3D.jpg
Problem3D.jpg (29.62 KiB) Viewed 10503 times

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 8921
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Problems with ESP-WROOM-32 and <WiFi.h> Library

Postby ESP_Sprite » Sat Jan 15, 2022 2:07 am

Could be that the protoboard is the issue... those things are known to be somewhat shitty, and it's easy to get cheap Dupont wires that are thin as a hair inside.

daniel_hammer
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2022 5:39 pm

Re: Problems with ESP-WROOM-32 and <WiFi.h> Library

Postby daniel_hammer » Mon Jan 17, 2022 12:51 pm

I will try to swap the LDO HT7833 for other LDO and if doesn't work I will make a PCB to eliminate the problems of protoboard.

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 8921
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Problems with ESP-WROOM-32 and <WiFi.h> Library

Postby ESP_Sprite » Tue Jan 18, 2022 1:18 am

Your PCB design is... interesting. I'd turn the ESP32 around so the antenna is near (or sticks over) the edge of the PCB, that way you don't have groundplanes getting 'in the way' of a signal. You also have no way to program the ESP32; I'd add a header with at least Tx, Rx, GPIO0, EN and GND on it so you can add an external programmer and also debug the board that way. Also, I didn't spot the 220uF cap on your 3.3V line; with that, you may have issues that the ESP32 is taken out of reset while the power hasn't completely come up yet (will look like the ESP32 does not start up after you applied power). If that happens, you may want to increase C3 to 10uF or maybe even more.

Ah, just spotted your board does not even have a ground plane. Suggest you add that. (In Kicad, remove all traces that carry ground, create a zone on the back of the board, select 'GND' as the net, and make a square covering the entire PCB.) Also, I'd fatten up the traces carrying power a bit; you have the space for it anyway.

daniel_hammer
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2022 5:39 pm

Re: Problems with ESP-WROOM-32 and <WiFi.h> Library

Postby daniel_hammer » Tue Jan 18, 2022 5:15 pm

Your PCB design is... interesting.
I know that my PCB design is bad, but I'm doing a proof of concept for this moment.
I'd turn the ESP32 around so the antenna is near (or sticks over) the edge of the PCB, that way you don't have groundplanes getting 'in the way' of a signal. You also have no way to program the ESP32;
Yes, it is the correct thing to do.
I'd add a header with at least Tx, Rx, GPIO0, EN and GND on it so you can add an external programmer and also debug the board that way.
I'm using a ESP32 burning board while I test in my protoboard (I don't use the energy provided of burning, only the USB programmer of the board), but, now I put 1 pin header with 3 pin when I want to use a usb tool for debug.
*The ESP32 burning: https://pt.aliexpress.com/item/32964740240.html
Also, I didn't spot the 220uF cap on your 3.3V line;
In my tests using my protoboard, my ESP doesn't work without electrolytic capacitor. However the capacitor seems connected on my PCB project.
Ah, just spotted your board does not even have a ground plane. Suggest you add that. (In Kicad, remove all traces that carry ground, create a zone on the back of the board, select 'GND' as the net, and make a square covering the entire PCB.)
I didn't it because I'm not going to make in a manufacturer yet.

But I believe that the HT7833 doesn't provide the enough quantity of current for the WiFi operation and I will test a new LDO.
Attachments
pcb_esp_wroom_32_test.pdf
(33.57 KiB) Downloaded 342 times

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 116 guests