how to connect two esp32 boards

minimax

how to connect two esp32 boards

Postby minimax » Mon Oct 02, 2017 9:57 pm

Hi all,
I am new to esp32 world and I usually use arduino for my projects. With multiple arduino boards projects I usually use I2C for interconnection with one board in the master mode as an orchestrator and and other in slave mode. But I learnt that esp32 doesn't yet implemented I2C slave mode. If I'm right, what is the most appropriate interface for a wired connection for a couple or more esp32 boards?

Resch2061

Re: how to connect two esp32 boards

Postby Resch2061 » Tue Oct 03, 2017 12:27 pm

https://esp-idf.readthedocs.io/en/v2.1/ ... ight=slave

The SPI drivers allow slave functionality. Maybe it'd be possible to achieve the same with this? I'm not quite sure.
I'm just thinking aloud, but maybe it'd be possible to use the UARTs to achieve the same?

loboris

Postby loboris » Tue Oct 03, 2017 2:09 pm

Why not use WiFi or Bluetooth? No wires needed.

kolban

Postby kolban » Tue Oct 03, 2017 3:23 pm

Just the other day I had a user ask about Bluetooth (BLE) communication between two ESP32s and we tested it out and it seemed to work just great.

Just a data point to also give a thumbs up for BLE and some evidence that others are also using BLE for ESP32 to ESP32 communications.
Free book on ESP32 available here: https://leanpub.com/kolban-ESP32

robpelu

Postby robpelu » Fri Dec 29, 2017 6:09 pm

I just arrived here while looking for the same, but in my case BLE or wifi is not an option, because as I'm not able to use BLE and Wifi at the same time in my ESP32, I will have to use two boards, one with wifi and the other one with BLE, then comunicate both via some cabled protocol.

I was thinking USART, SPI or I2C as some of you mentioned above.

BR, Robert.

Update: 22/04/18
Actually after tweaking the config file and taking care of using just small buffers got it working. Mostly it was a case of RAM memory.