Esp-dl problem with psram

jmonzon
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2022 8:27 am

Esp-dl problem with psram

Postby jmonzon » Tue Mar 28, 2023 6:58 pm

HI! I am new in this forum so forgive me if this topic should be placed in another space (Documentation/Sample Code/Hardware/Etc...)

I am also new with the Esp32. At this moment I have done a couple of projects with the esp32 but in my opinion very easy, without getting deep in the hardware nor the firmware.

I would like to implement a neuronal network in the esp32, and following the documentation I came across with this example: https://github.com/espressif/esp-dl/tre ... ol_example. I have followed the tutorial and flash it in a esp32 devkit (this https://www.amazon.es/dp/B071P98VTG/ref ... 87QA3&th=1).

However I get the following error:

"E (312) psram: PSRAM ID read error: 0xffffffff
E (312) cpu_start: Failed to init external RAM!"

What could be the problem? How can I solve it?

Thank you very much in advance!

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 8921
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Esp-dl problem with psram

Postby ESP_Sprite » Tue Mar 28, 2023 11:52 pm

Is your board/module actually equipped with PSRAM? It doesn't come as standard with all modules/boards.

jmonzon
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2022 8:27 am

Re: Esp-dl problem with psram

Postby jmonzon » Wed Mar 29, 2023 5:46 am

ESP_Sprite wrote:
Tue Mar 28, 2023 11:52 pm
Is your board/module actually equipped with PSRAM? It doesn't come as standard with all modules/boards.
Thank you for your answer! How can I know if the ESP32 is eqquiped with PSRAM? Do you know if it is necessary to run esp-dl library?

jmonzon
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2022 8:27 am

Re: Esp-dl problem with psram

Postby jmonzon » Wed Mar 29, 2023 9:38 am

Hi!

Thank you for your answer! Hoy can I know if it is equipped with PSRAM?

Acording to the documentation (https://github.com/espressif/esp-dl) "
As ESP-DL does not need any peripherals [...]
" I supposed that it would work with a standard dev-kit module... Should I include any other peripheral?

Thank you in advanced!

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 8921
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Esp-dl problem with psram

Postby ESP_Sprite » Thu Mar 30, 2023 6:36 am

It's because ESP-DL by itself doesn't require psram. It simply happens to be used with models that use a fair amount of memory, and in that case you want psram to stash your data in. If your models and other memory requirements are small enough, esp-dl will happily work from internal memory alone as well.

You can usually either look up the information of the devboard, or lacking that the datasheet of the module on the devboard. That'll tell you details wrt the amount of psram, if any, it has.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 117 guests