Can i create a ISR or interrupt and let that be pinned to a core?

YvesDS
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 10:57 am
Location: Bredene (Belgium)

Can i create a ISR or interrupt and let that be pinned to a core?

Postby YvesDS » Fri Oct 20, 2017 7:31 pm

Hi,
Is it possible to pin a interrupt routine to one of the two cores (or a ISR function pinned to one of the cores)?
The goal is to let some logic be done by one core (trapping external interrupts from eg. a pushbutton) and send a timestamp and some other data to the other core where it can be proccesed and output to eg. a serial monitor.

As for the "timestamp" is there a "arduino-alike" function of micros() or millis()?
Grtz,
Yves

WiFive
Posts: 3529
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 7:35 am

Re: Can i create a ISR or interrupt and let that be pinned to a core?

Postby WiFive » Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:29 pm

Allocating an external interrupt will always allocate it on the core that does the allocation.

https://esp-idf.readthedocs.io/en/lates ... alloc.html

YvesDS
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2017 10:57 am
Location: Bredene (Belgium)

Re: Can i create a ISR or interrupt and let that be pinned to a core?

Postby YvesDS » Sat Oct 21, 2017 12:51 pm

Hi WiFive,

read the article, seems very interesting.
WiFive wrote:Allocating an external interrupt will always allocate it on the core that does the allocation.

https://esp-idf.readthedocs.io/en/lates ... alloc.html
Can anyone point me to a example?
Just googled for a sort of hands on, but nothing came up ;)
Grtz,
Yves

madlan
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: Can i create a ISR or interrupt and let that be pinned to a core?

Postby madlan » Mon Oct 22, 2018 9:29 am

YvesDS wrote:Hi WiFive,

read the article, seems very interesting.
WiFive wrote:Allocating an external interrupt will always allocate it on the core that does the allocation.

https://esp-idf.readthedocs.io/en/lates ... alloc.html
Can anyone point me to a example?
Just googled for a sort of hands on, but nothing came up ;)
Grtz,
Yves
Bump - Has anyone got an example?

ESP_Sprite
Posts: 8921
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:08 am

Re: Can i create a ISR or interrupt and let that be pinned to a core?

Postby ESP_Sprite » Tue Oct 23, 2018 2:26 am

An example for what, exactly?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 131 guests