Hardware device design questions

permal

Hardware device design questions

Postby permal » Tue Jan 02, 2018 4:33 pm

Hi,

I’m getting a bit ahead of myself now as I’m still finishing up my current project (an alarm system/IO-card) based on the ESP32, but I want to get this going anyway.

Some of these questions may be better to ask in an electronics forum, but I’m going to ask anyway.

My next project will also be based on the ESP32, but contrary to the alarm system I do not intend to use a devboard (ESP32 Thing from Sparkfun). Instead, I want to use an ESP32-PICO-D4 directly soldered onto my PCB. This will save me some components and also make it possible to reduce the size of the PCB by a large amount. As I’m still learning hardware design, I have some questions that I need answered in order to make sure that I don’t paint myself into a corner.

- Antenna. I see two options here. Either an antenna as part of the PCB, or as an external one connected to the PCB via a wire. The PCB version has its anvantages since it can easily be included in the PCB layout. But from what I understand, the other version gives better performance and the PCB version also imposes som restrictions on the layou of the PCB. So, where can I find information about these two options, and are there more options? I’m assuming the ESP32 itself has some requirements regarding antenna design, where can I find those, and are there any guidelines I can follow?

- Power supply. The devise will be mounted on a wall and will be about the height of an 18650 battery, and access to mains is not really an option. As such I intend to use a 18650 as the power source, or possibly a LiPo cell. The device does not need to include a charger unit. As I also want to be able to connect it to an USB during development, I need to make sure that I design the device such that the USB power source and battery can be connected at the same time. Do any of you have some input on this?