applying esp-dsp IIR biquad to pipeline or element ?

benbiles

applying esp-dsp IIR biquad to pipeline or element ?

Postby benbiles » Mon Dec 16, 2019 3:22 am

Hi,

I'd like to modify an I2s audio stream with something like

int NbufferSize = 1024;
float coeffs[5]; // the 5 IIR bi quad coefficients in this array
int delay(0,0);

dsps_biquad_f32 (&NsamplesBufferInPointer, &iNsamplesBufferOutPointer, NbufferSize, coeffs, delay);

Do I create my own element and that to the elements chain ( pipeline ) ?
Which callback to use for timing ? how do I know when the buffer is full and when to modify samples in buffer ?

I have successfully merged equalizer example with passthrough.
Would equalizer be the best starting point add the dsps_biquad_f32 coefficient?

I'm new to the esp-adf ( esp-idf ) environment.

shabtronic

Re: applying esp-dsp IIR biquad to pipeline or element ?

Postby shabtronic » Mon Dec 16, 2019 6:35 pm

Hey BenBiles

I'm working on a similar part of my code for my ESP32 - I posted a few messages ago how to add a DSP function into the pipeline - yes it's based off the eq code example.

https://esp32.com/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=13495

you'd pop ur biquad code in here somewhere:

Code: Select all

static audio_element_err_t Dsp_process(audio_element_handle_t self, char *inbuf, int len)
	{
	audio_element_input(self, (char *)DspBuf, len);
	//Biquad code here!
	int ret = audio_element_output(self, (char *)DspBuf, len);
	return (audio_element_err_t)ret;
	}
Hope that helps, and hope I'm correct :)

benbiles

Postby benbiles » Tue Dec 17, 2019 5:53 am

Hi shabtronic!

Thanks for this ! You saved me hours of head scratching and have done exactly what I thought I needed to do!

Did you just add your additional dsp functions etc to the equalizer.c or did you make a new file dspProcess.c and a dspProcess.h header?

I'll try and insert my code to your Dsp_process function and report back here if it works soon as I get time :)

shabtronic