Dual Core Implementations

berlinetta

Dual Core Implementations

Postby berlinetta » Tue May 21, 2019 9:24 pm

Hello,

I am new to the use of multi-core devices, and was hoping to get more information / examples on how to properly configure the ESP32 for use of both cores. I have read data sheets and other threads discussing the topic and have gleaned some information from them, but it is not nearly enough to move forward with.

We plan on creating a communications device which could be used to implement connectivity needs for all of our products. We were hoping to place the ESP32 at the heart of this solution because it provides a cost-effective hardware solution with open source code that we can leverage to control the future of our product lines. We have paid a consultant to research the ESP32 and perform some preliminary design work as a proof of concept. One of the issues that was encountered in that exercise dealt with latency in serial communications between the ESP32 and our local processor. According to the consultant, the implementation of the SPI driver code for the ESP32 had some fairly serious limitations in how the traffic had to be packetized and queued. Since the driver and the queue are managed by the OS, there were latency issues with passing commands to the ESP32 and retrieving responses in a timely fashion. Additionally, pin assignments via the GPIO ring caused delays which prompted the necessity of a "dummy" bit work-around.