How to change the wifi AP credentials on an existing (claimed) node?

hamishcunningham
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 7:50 pm

How to change the wifi AP credentials on an existing (claimed) node?

Postby hamishcunningham » Mon Nov 09, 2020 11:15 am

Hello! Rainmaker looks great, thanks!

One question: I've moved a device to a different location and need to give it new wifi credentials... is there a way to do that without erasing flash and creating a new device?

I tried

Code: Select all

$ ./rainmaker.py provision ...node id...
but I get:
Please connect to the wifi PROV_XXXXXX and Press Enter to continue...
(and no AP appears that I can join).

ESP_Piyush
Posts: 259
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 7:02 am

Re: How to change the wifi AP credentials on an existing (claimed) node?

Postby ESP_Piyush » Tue Nov 17, 2020 2:38 pm

Hi Hamish,

If you are using any existing examples, pressing and holding the boot button for more than 3 seconds and then releasing it will reset the Wi-Fi credentials. You can then re-provision from the phone app.

Provisioning from CLI would work for SoftAP provisioning, but the default for ESP32 is BLE provisioning, so you won't find the network PROV_xxxxxx. The reason why CLI has SoftAP provisioning is that we had initially launched ESP RainMaker for ESP32-S2 only, which does not have BLE.

Regards,
Piyush

Cacomixtle
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2022 12:27 am

Re: How to change the wifi AP credentials on an existing (claimed) node?

Postby Cacomixtle » Mon Sep 25, 2023 11:34 pm

Hi ESP_Piyush,

I'm looking for an example of how to press and hold the boot button for more than 3 seconds and then release it to perform a specific action. I attempted to use a Semaphore Binary, but occasionally, the interrupt seems to trigger automatically. I think that incorporating a timer for the button holding might resolve this issue.

Any help would be appreciated.

ESP_Piyush
Posts: 259
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2019 7:02 am

Re: How to change the wifi AP credentials on an existing (claimed) node?

Postby ESP_Piyush » Wed Sep 27, 2023 5:45 pm

You can check the app_reset component of esp-rainmaker/examples/common which is used in all the RainMaker examples.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests