Flash programming specifications for ESP32-PICO-MINI-02

sai_tadimeti

Flash programming specifications for ESP32-PICO-MINI-02

Postby sai_tadimeti » Thu Mar 30, 2023 8:46 pm

Hi,

My name is Sai and I work as a Device Support Engineer at BPM Microsystems. We provide third party flash programming solutions to our customers. One of our customers is interested in programming the ESP32-PICO-MINI-02 on our programmers. Could you please provide me with the flash programming specifications for this device? We are willing to sign an NDA with you if needed. Thank you.

ESP_Sprite

Re: Flash programming specifications for ESP32-PICO-MINI-02

Postby ESP_Sprite » Fri Mar 31, 2023 12:31 am

Hiya! First of all, this is not really a support forum; if you need more technical specifications, I'd suggest you reach out to sales@espressif.com. I can give you a general overview, though: these modules contain the ESP32 silicon and that chip is generally programmed using the UART pins plus reset and IO0 via the bootloader on the baked-in ROM. This is generally done using esptool.py, but we also have a C library that can do this as well. The serial protocol in use is described here, but as both the program and the library mentioned are open-source, you can also use the code as a reference. (Also note that generally, we do not require NDAs for things as mundane as knowing how to program our chips.)

sai_tadimeti

Postby sai_tadimeti » Fri May 26, 2023 3:07 pm

Hi ESP_SPrite,
Thank you for the reply. I understand that the python code has details with regards to the flash and security keys burining. However, we need the underlying documentation like a device datasheet with schematics which was used to develop this tool. That way we can emulate this process to program multiple of these devices at the same time.