ESP-IDF, multicore & freeRTOS confusion

yaqwsx

ESP-IDF, multicore & freeRTOS confusion

Postby yaqwsx » Sun Feb 26, 2017 9:22 am

I am completely new to ESP32 development and I am still looking around.

To sum up my assumptions about ESP32 I make, when asking this question:
- ESP32 contains two identical cores, one is PRO_CPU and the second is APP_CPU.
- ESP-IDF is build on top FreeRTOS. That means that handling of WiFi and other stuff is handled as RTOS task.
- ESP-IDF is the lowest-possible API officially supported

My confusion is about details concerning the two cores.
- Which peripheral (timer) is freeRTOS using to implement scheduler? Or does it support only cooperative multitasking?
- Does it utilize both cores? If so, what is the scheduling algorithm?
- Is it possible to use ESP-IDF without RTOS? E.g. I want statically to allocate one job on one CPU (doing background stuff, handling WiFi, etc.) and run another job on the second one?
- Is it possible to run FreeRTOS on one CPU and dedicate the second core to a single job? If so, how to achieve it?
- How to use sleep modes? Is it possible to use sleep modes per-cpu?

ESP_igrr

Re: ESP-IDF, multicore & freeRTOS confusion

Postby ESP_igrr » Sun Feb 26, 2017 2:06 pm

- Which peripheral (timer) is freeRTOS using to implement scheduler? Or does it support only cooperative multitasking?
FreeRTOS is currently configured to use one of the timers built into the CPU core (CCOMPARE0).
- Does it utilize both cores? If so, what is the scheduling algorithm?
It uses both cores unless "Run FreeRTOS on first core only" option is set in menuconfig.
- Is it possible to use ESP-IDF without RTOS? E.g. I want statically to allocate one job on one CPU (doing background stuff, handling WiFi, etc.) and run another job on the second one?