Setting up Visual Studio Code for ESP32 IDF

Deouss
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:36 am

Setting up Visual Studio Code for ESP32 IDF

Postby Deouss » Wed Jul 11, 2018 1:43 pm

I posted a small guide how to setup VS Code and ESP-IDF on Windows
System uses CMake and is independent from f.ex PlatformIO
It will compile full blown FreeRTOS projects ;)

Link:
Setting up Visual Studio Code for ESP32 IDF

User avatar
luisonoff
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2018 12:20 pm

Re: Setting up Visual Studio Code for ESP32 IDF

Postby luisonoff » Thu Jul 12, 2018 6:20 am

Thank you Deouss!
Very well done and nicely explained.
I actually expected it to be much simpler... what is the difference between powershell and cmd? and how do I know which one I am using? Is it necessary to edit the environment variables even if we use the Espressif installer that adds some paths?

Deouss
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:36 am

Re: Setting up Visual Studio Code for ESP32 IDF

Postby Deouss » Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:40 am

I updated the section about environment variables.
There is a batch file that automatically pulls the branch from git and sets the IDF_PATH for you ;)

Deouss
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:36 am

Re: Setting up Visual Studio Code for ESP32 IDF

Postby Deouss » Sat Jul 14, 2018 4:50 pm

Just small update.
I seem to be having problem with intellisense feature. Not getting the smooth response.
Maybe someone has better idea how to. I also found some VSC c++ Getting Started Guide
Will look into it...

Deouss
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:36 am

Re: Setting up Visual Studio Code for ESP32 IDF

Postby Deouss » Sun Jul 15, 2018 5:17 am

According to VSC c++ guide - I need the exact path to compiler and debugger binary file
I haven't set up debugging yet but maybe someone could help here with where are the above files.

It looks like VSC does not need all those very long listings for include paths and intellisense works good.
I supplied just one extra path "$(env:IDF_PATH}" and all works smooth so far
As far as CMake - maybe there are some extensions - I didn't check yet

User avatar
kolban
Posts: 1683
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 4:43 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Setting up Visual Studio Code for ESP32 IDF

Postby kolban » Sat Aug 04, 2018 4:19 am

First class documentation sir. With your permission, I'm adding a solid reference to your work in my book of notes. Your paper is a must read for anyone working in VSC with ESP-IDF.
Free book on ESP32 available here: https://leanpub.com/kolban-ESP32

Deouss
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:36 am

Re: Setting up Visual Studio Code for ESP32 IDF

Postby Deouss » Sat Aug 04, 2018 4:53 am

No problem ) I'm open to suggestions how to improve projects with VS Code.

User avatar
kolban
Posts: 1683
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 4:43 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Re: Setting up Visual Studio Code for ESP32 IDF

Postby kolban » Sat Aug 04, 2018 5:14 am

Have you had an opportunity to test to see the opportunity of interacting with gdb and JTAG (for debugging) under VSC?
Free book on ESP32 available here: https://leanpub.com/kolban-ESP32

Deouss
Posts: 279
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:36 am

Re: Setting up Visual Studio Code for ESP32 IDF

Postby Deouss » Sat Aug 04, 2018 5:30 am

Not yet. I haven't gotten that far and I am not sure how to properly debug the code.

amruta
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:03 am

Re: Setting up Visual Studio Code for ESP32 IDF

Postby amruta » Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:24 am

Check this.
https://github.com/VirgiliaBeatrice/esp ... utorial.md

It doesn't need updating environment variables also it includes debugger setup.
It uses msys bash with vs-code

Return to “ESP32 IDF”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: detlier and 6 guests